Hit & Run
If you have been charged with a hit and run in the state of Washington then you are likely aware of just how seriously the police, prosecutors and the courts take this offense. It may seem that the entire world is against you. Eagle Law Office, P.S. located in Seattle can help. Call us at 206.426.6961 or toll free at 1.877.579.0650.
A conviction for a Washington hit and run crime not only can lead to fines and jail time but have long-lasting impact on your credit rating, present and future employment, as well as personal relationships.
Hit and Run Offenses Explained
Hit and Run – Unattended
This incident occurs when a driver strikes property that is uninhabited, such as a parked car. The law requires you to stop and search for the owner. If you cannot find the owner, you must post a notice on the vehicle with your contact information. Failure to do this is a misdemeanor criminal offense punishable by a fine and as much as 90 days of jail time. If you have a Commercial Driver License, your license will be suspended for one year for your first conviction of any hit and run crime. A second offense conviction will cause a lifetime CDL revocation.
This is quite a common situation in Washington and Eagle Law Office, P.S. has been consistent in providing defense, often leaving no criminal record for our clients.
Hit and Run Attended
If you are in a crash with another car that is occupied, Washington law mandates that you give the other driver your license, registration and insurance information. Failure to do so is the commission of a hit and run attended crime, even if you were not the driver at fault.
This is a gross misdemeanor and carries a potential penalty of one year suspension of your license, jail for up to 364 days and fined up to $5,000.
The Eagle Law Office, P.S. criminal defense attorneys have handled many cases in this hit and run category. Many were resolved without formal prosecution and clients did not have a resulting criminal record.
Hit and Run Injury or Death
If you are involved in an accident that results in injury or death, under Washington law you are required to:
- Stop your vehicle
- Remain at the accident scene and give the injured party, the other car driver or the person attending the injured party your name and address
- Provide your insurance information
- Provide your vehicle license plate number
- Show your driver’s license
- Offer reasonable assistance to any injured party
You must do all of the above even if the crash was not your fault. If you fail to do any of the 6 requirements, you could be charged with a felony, are subject to a fine of up to $10,000.00 and prison for up to 5 years. If convicted, your license will be revoked for one year.
It is essential that you get legal guidance if charged with any hit and run crime. Contact us at Eagle Law Offices, P.S. in Seattle at 206.426.6961 or toll free at 1.877.579.0650. We will aggressively defend your legal rights.